Sexual Abuse

Helping You Find Justice

Sexual abuse and molestation can take many forms, and regardless of how you were violated you deserve respect and justice. In a perfect world, we’d never have to take a case like this but, unfortunately, they do happen and that’s why we’re here: to fight for you.

Victims of sexual abuse are often left feeling powerless and coming forward can be a major challenge. We want to assure you we’ll handle your case with great care and all the confidentiality you need.

Distinctions in Oklahoma law

Oklahoma law draws important distinctions between the types of sexual abuse a victim may experience. It’s important to know where your case falls. The three main crimes in the state are rape, rape by instrument, and forcible sodomy. Each crime falls into varying degrees as well as carrying varying punishments and statutes of limitations.

Rape Laws

Oklahoma law defines first-degree rape as vaginal or anal intercourse in cases where:

  • The act is committed by someone over 18 upon someone who is under 14
  • The victim is under 16
  • The victim is incapable of providing consent through either mental illness, unsoundness of mind, unconsciousness, or intoxication by narcotic or anesthetic agent given by the accused person(s)
  • The act is committed with force, violence, or threats of violence

First-degree rape is punishable by five years to life in prison without parole or even death.

Second-degree rape includes cases of consensual sex between:

  • A minor under 14 and the defendant is under 18
  • A minor who is 14 or 15 and the defendant is 18 or older

Second-degree rape is punishable by between 1 and 15 years in prison.

Rape by Instrumentation Laws

Oklahoma law defines “Rape by Instrumentation” as an act in which an inanimate object or certain body parts are used to penetrate someone anally or vaginally without that person’s consent. These cases can fall into the first-degree or second-degree rape charges explained above and are equally punishable.

Forcible Sodomy Laws

Oklahoma law defines forcible sodomy as one person forcing another to engage in anal or oral sex. These crimes fall under similar guidelines as outlined under first-degree rape above, but the age guidelines are slightly different; cases include when a victim is under 16 and the defendant is over 18.

First-offense cases are punishable by up to 20 years in prison. Subsequent offenses can include increased penalties up to life in prison or even death.

Let Us Fight For You

If you are a victim of any of these crimes, we want to do everything in our power to get you justice. The Bison Law Firm provides representation and legal support to sexual abuse victims and their families. We have extensive experience handling personal injury claims and will treat your loved one’s case with the sensitivity and compassion it deserves. To speak to an attorney call 405.407.0111 or contact us online.